DVD: “Welcome Back, Pluto”

Last night I watched “Welcome Back, Pluto”, a DVD about parental alienation from Dr. Richard A. Warshak.  As I’ve mentioned before, PA is a subject I feel quite strongly about, so I was overjoyed to hear this gem existed.  I bought it right away.

Given the issue, I think it might be difficult to get this DVD into the hands of children who need to see it.  The messaging is very direct, which often raises a red flag and proves to be an immediate turnoff (for the child as well as the favored parent).  Another hurdle is the presentation itself, which is applicable to a broad age range.  Young children might find some parts too boring/mature while teenagers may feel the content is too juvenile.  (Not that I’m qualified to know exactly what peoples’ reactions would be… this is just gut-based conjecture)

But enough objectivity, let me tell you what I loved about this piece:

  • Again, I am so happy this exists, yay!!
  • The majority of the content is directed toward alienated children.
  • It’s quite comprehensive and examines the situation from many perspectives (targeted parent, favored parent and child).
  • The presentation is simple and straightforward
  • The content is easy to understand
  • Tips are offered for parents and children.
  • The “chapters” are short, which allows for quick viewing and discussion over multiple days if necessary.

I imagine this DVD will be a helpful tool for therapists and a meaningful conversation piece for parents and children.  I’m hoping this breakthrough work is just the beginning.  I’d love to see more child-focused media to raise awareness of this important issue.

7 comments on “DVD: “Welcome Back, Pluto”

  1. Thanks for the kind comments about our new DVD on parental alienation. Initially I shared your concern about how children would respond. I am happy to say that parents are reporting very positive reactions from their kids. I posted some of these at: http://www.warshak.com/alienation/pluto/viewers-say.html. Also, we now include a complimentary Users Guide with the DVD, which has instructions about how best to introduce Welcome Back, Pluto to resistant children.

  2. Mandy says:

    Hi … I have a three-part series on PAS starting shortly and will link back to this review …Looking for other good resources too. It’s not a subject I know much about.

  3. […] and says it can result in missing limbs from the family tree. She recently reviewed the DVD,  Welcome Back, Pluto by Dr. Richard A. Warshak and recommends Warshak as an excellent resource on the […]

  4. […] PlutoDr. Warshak’s Website“Welcome Back, Pluto” Video: Understanding Parental AlienationDVD: “Welcome Back, Pluto”Living in Shadow Land: The Plight of Rejected Parents – Welcome Back, Pluto DVD Chapter […]

  5. […] and says it can result in missing limbs from the family tree. She recently reviewed the DVD,  Welcome Back, Pluto by Dr. Richard A. Warshak and recommends Warshak as an excellent resource on the […]

Leave a comment