More Divorce Music

Since moving to the new house, we’ve been spinning a lot of old records.  Yes, that’s right:  vinyl.  Due to Boyfriend’s fondness of old stereo equipment, we have several turntables of various ages and states of operation.  Yesterday, we acquired a rather large quantity of records for a very reasonable price and the new old music has been vibrating through the house since then.  After dinner this evening, Boyfriend suggested we play a “random record”.  Without looking, he pointed to an item in the stack and extracted a Phil Collins album.  The kids weren’t impressed and quickly went to their rooms to prepare for the return trip to their mother’s house.  Boyfriend and I cleared the table cleaned up the kitchen.  We were “cleaning” a pan of brownies when he turned to me and suggested, “This is a good divorce song.”  I couldn’t help but agree, and so I thought I’d share it here… Enjoy!

Phil Collins I Don’t Care Anymore Lyrics

Well you can tell ev’ryone I’m a down disgrace
Drag my name all over the place.
I don’t care anymore.
You can tell ev’rybody ’bout the state I’m in
You won’t catch me crying ‘cos I just can’t win.
I don’t care anymore I don’t care anymore

I don’t care what you say
I don’t play the same games you play.

‘Cos I’ve been talking to the people that you call your friends
And it seems to me there’s a means to and end.
They don’t care anymore.
And as for me I can sit here and bide my time
I got nothing to lose if I speak my mind.
I don’t care anymore I don’t care no more

I don’t care what you say
We never played by the same rules anyway.

I won’t be there anymore
Get out of my way
Let me by
I got better things to do with my time
I don’t care anymore I don’t care anymore
I don’t care anymore I don’t care anymore

Well, I don’t care now what you say
‘Cos ev’ry day I’m feeling fine with myself
And I don’t care now what you say
Hey I’ll do alright by myself
‘Cos I know.

‘Cos I remember all the times I tried so hard
And you laughed in my face ‘cos you held all the cards.
I don’t care anymore.
And I really ain’t bothered what you think of me
‘Cos all I want of you is just a let me be.
I don’t care anymore D’you hear? I don’t care no more

I don’t care what you say
I never did believe you much anyway.

I won’t be there no more
So get out of my way.
Let me by
I got better things to do with my time
I don’t care anymore
D’you hear? I don’t care anymore
I don’t care no more
You listening? I don’t care no more
No more!

You know I don’t care no more!

8 comments on “More Divorce Music

  1. Sonia says:

    Nice lyrics. Wonder which of his three ex-wives he’s thinking of…maybe all of them?

    Here’s a good divorce cartoon from the Soul Mate Shmoopies website:

    http://soulmateshmoopies.wordpress.com/2011/04/05/13-we-can-all-be-friends/

  2. MTFFH says:

    I used to listen to a Harrl Nilsson song “You’re Breaking My Heart”. You could probably find it somewhere on YouTube.

    Not pretty, but had a certain feel for a certain time.

  3. MTFFH says:

    Sorry, that’s Harry Nilsson.

  4. I’d never thought of this song in that way, but you’re of course right: it fits perfectly as a divorce song.

    I’ve certainly got quite a collection of break-up songs (being a former dj and all), but one that stands out along these same lines is Mary Chapin Carpenter’s “The Last Word”. The album version is brilliant and scathing. If you don’t have it, though, you can check out the live version on YouTube. The lyrics are the same, even if the live version lacks the same bite as the studio version:

    Fun topic, my friend. 🙂

  5. […] More Divorce Music (relativeevolutions.com) […]

Leave a Reply

