Dad’s Partner: My Story

One of the most important factors in establishing effective relationships and communication is the ability to understand the other person.  To empathize.  To have compassion.  Especially when that other person is somewhat of an adversary.

Gaining this type of perspective was one of my goals for the She Said/She Said Project.  What you are about to read is another attempt to promote understanding across divorce-drawn lines.  I’d like to showcase more of Dad’s Partner so that Dads and Moms can better see this person.  To do so, I’ll be putting myself under a microscope of sorts… The first installment of this project is my own personal journey.  Next week, I’ll further detail the emotions and insecurities inherent to those women who couple with parents.  And the following week, I’ll discuss some of my favorite resources to help us cope and thrive.

But first things first… here’s a glimpse into my past:

Boyfriend and his wife split up in mid-2006.  After years of unhappiness, the decision to end their marriage was mutual.

In November of the same year, Boyfriend’s ex discovered he was dating someone (that would be me).  At that time, their relationship had plunged into typical post-separation turmoil.  He was coping with a minimally-furnished apartment and a major reduction in the time he spent with the kids.  She was adjusting to a reduced income and the stress of being the primary caregiver (her insistence) of their children.  There was a lot of resentment.  My arrival on the scene served as proof that things would never again be the way they were before.  And that ignited some serious animosity.

I had the misfortune of being present at Boyfriend’s apartment during one of their heated telephone conversations.  When the ex realized I was there, she chose to speak to me.  Her words weren’t kind.  She called me lots of colorful names and offered a multitude of reasons as to why I should want nothing to do with Boyfriend.  At one point during her tirade, I made a sarcastic remark which was taken out of context and used against me for years to come.

Because I had no children, the ex concluded that I was hopelessly immature and irresponsible (how many people become parents by accident?  does parental status really mean a person is responsible?).  She told her children that their father chose his girlfriend over them.  When I met the boys a few months later, it was obvious that my reputation preceded me in their eyes.  Shortly after that, the ex proudly proclaimed that she and the kids held regular “Tara-Bashing Sessions” at their kitchen table.  Hatred became their family value.

My first move with the boys was to show them that I was not a threat to their relationships with either of their parents. One rainy Sunday afternoon, I bought some plastic picture frames with lots of “frame” area and some stickers.  I used my Polaroid 600 to take pictures of the boys with their dad and then gave them the stickers to decorate the frames.  I suggested that they take the photos to their mom’s house and bring back pictures of them with their mom to keep at Boyfriend’s apartment.  They seemed to appreciate the activity and the idea, but they never did bring pictures of their mom.

As time went by, I spent more and more time with the boys and was able to develop a successful relationship with each of them.  While Drake and Josh warmed up to me, their mother remained cold and distant. She said I was white trash.  She called me a whore, a home wrecker and a waste of life… among other things.  She accused me of merely pretending to care about the boys and insisted that I was clueless about children.  She didn’t bother to hide her feelings from the kids.  Knowing how much she loved to hate me, the boys lied to her: they claimed that I called her names, refused to give them medicine if they were sick or that I threatened to lock them in a cage.  Their stories initiated many frantic phone calls laced with angry words.

My friends hinted to me that I was crazy to allow such madness into my life.  Yet, I loved Boyfriend and I loved his children.  Despite the dreaded Sunday Night Accusations, the four of us had fun together.  We spent time hiking and fishing and kayaking and reading.  We enjoyed each other’s company and learned a lot together.  Indeed, I was crazy… I was crazy about the three of them.

The experience further fueled my passion for knowledge regarding All Things Divorce.  I’d been researching divorce since my marriage ended.  With the introduction of the divorced dad, kids and the ex wife, I expanded my horizons.  Early in 2007, I began learning as much as I could about stepfamily dynamics and the contributing factors in our scenario.  I wanted to investigate all possible aspects to comprehend the “hows” and the “whys” of what was going on in my personal life.  I needed to understand my role, how others viewed me and how I could best conduct myself given the circumstances.  Thanks to those books, seminars, webinars, TV programs, classes, blogs, vlogs, trainings, workshops and tweets, I feel I have a better understanding of the issues at play and how to cope with them.

It’s been more than four years since the drama began.  I’m happy to report that it has simmered down quite a bit since the beginning.  Boyfriend and I have exercised a lot compassion and forgiveness in order to let go of the conflicts and move on with our lives.  We adopted the rule, “if you can’t treat me with respect, you aren’t permitted to speak to me” and it has helped foster more effective communication.  The ex wife and Boyfriend get along well enough.  She remarried last year and her husband has a positive relationship with the boys as well as a workable relationship with Boyfriend.  Between the four adults, we operate like a disjointed parenting team.  To the other side of that team, I remain an outsider.  I think they are grateful for my contributions yet have trouble accepting the validity of my presence (perhaps now because Boyfriend and I aren’t married and they are). Our situation is far from my ideal post-divorce vision, but we’ve made progress… and as long as things keep progressing, I’m OK with that.

21 comments on “Dad’s Partner: My Story

  1. Matt Johnson..@mattvjohnson says:

    I appreciate your perspective, and it seems your experience is about par for the course in these situations. I’m very early on post divorce, and do not have a significant other…it’s stressful enough rigth now without one in the sitution honestly.

  2. ChopperPapa says:

    The ex’s story is something that I hear far too often. In their bitterness they lash out at what the can’t control by using their children. She will always be intimidated by your presence and it appears that you have created a workable relationship as a result.

    • You’re right… The animosity is tyically a misguided attempt to exert control. And it’s an understandable reaction for someone whose world as been turned upside down. Still… “sometimes when I’m angry I have the right to be angry, but that doesn’t give me the right to be cruel.”

  3. phatkeke says:

    Cool post. Brave decision to put yourself out there and describe your relationship with Boyfriend and his ex. I look forward to the comments and the next few installments of the blog. I can relate to being the target of irrational ire from the ex. Glad the drama you experienced has decreased. We are more than a year out from my SO’s divorce yet the drama continues in full view of the kids. Obviously the Will/Jada and Bruce/Demi stories of healthy remarriages post divorce are exceptions. It seems from your post and the comments of many others that the bitter ex who wreaks havoc on the new relationship and poisons his/her children against the new SO is a very common occurrence.

    • Unfortunately it seems very common. And I wasn’t prepared for it at all… Neither of my parents acted hostile following their divorce. I thought animosity was the exception.

      • phatkeke says:

        I guess I expected more maturity and perhaps some discretion. No one says divorce is easy or that you have to get over any feelings of remorse or anger overnight. But at least behave with some level of grace. My SO’s ex seems to have forgotten her pride in the wake of being angry at us for moving on and being happy. As a woman and a mother myself it has been very hard to watch.

  4. Cathy says:

    Tara, I like hearing stories like this. It helps my heart to know that for some the effort to be civil can eventually pay-off.

    I always thought animosity was the exception also. My grandparents were divorced, my mother was divorced from her first husband and as a child I witnessed people who behaved civilly toward each other.

    When we were children and would visit my grandmother my grandfather would come and sleep on her couch so he could be part of the family gathering. When he became sick with cancer my grandmother took him in and cared for him until he died. Today they are buried next to each other. They set a wonderful example for me.

    I was stunned by my exes anger and hostility after our divorce. The divorce was painful but far less damaging emotionally than he seeming hatred of me since.

    I had always assumed that if you treat someone with compassion and kindness that you would get back what you gave. My ex proved that belief wrong.

    And his wife, I’ve met her twice, have expressed to her how much I appreciate her loving and caring for my children. What did I get in return? Name calling and emails that would curl your hair.

    I eventually gave up trying to form a working relationship with either of them. Some people want to hate and I want to be free of such people.

    • That’s a wonderful story about your grandparents! Thank you so much for sharing it.

      Unfortunately some people do *want* to hate. I’ve found that in situations which initiate insecurity and competition, “hatred” can soothe the person who is uncomfortable. Sometimes the best course of action is to keep your distance.

  5. Jack Adams says:

    Tara,
    I always enjoy reading your stuff. You are clearly the high-road taker in your family dynamic. I applaud you and wish you the best. Thank you for being brave enough to share your story.
    Best of luck
    Jack

  6. Mandy says:

    Hi Tara – sorry I haven’t visited for a while. Kudos to you and the Boyfriend for figuring out how to handle the conflict and sticking with it. Your first hand experience with this gives you valuable insights into the situations you clients may be facing. There’s always a reason for anger but figuring it out isn’t easy especially when the person being angry doesn’t know themselves.

    Congrats on the new home!

    Mandy

  7. MTFFH says:

    For a few paragraphs I thought you were telling my story! My ex has done so much damage through name calling, ‘conferences’ with the kids while alone, her passive/aggressive nature … I could not have believed that this would have happened.

    I try, VERY hard, difficult as it continues to be, to not strike back but alas, sometimes it does wear you down to face it week after week.

    It’s inspiring to know that there is light after dark sometime in the future. Thank you.

    • It does wear you down. It’s amazing how much of that kind of abuse people can actually withstand… I think we’re all stronger than we realize 😉

      Remember: the person hurting you is doing so as an attempt to heal his/her own pain. The best you can do is wish them well and take care of yourself.

  8. phatkeke says:

    Tara this is a slightly off-topic question, but how does your BF’s ex respond/react to your blog?

  9. […] Welcome to week 2 of my up-close look at Dad’s Partner (revisit Week 1 here). […]

  10. […] to Week 3 of my series about Dad’s Partner.  If you missed weeks 1 and 2, you can catch up here and here.  I think this will be my final post in the series (unless I think of something else for […]

  11. […] lot of time discussing the female side of divorce and stepfamily issues.  I’ve talked about my journey as the partner of a divorced dad and I’ve invited conversation from The Mom’s perspective…. among other posts. […]

Leave a Reply

